ViriCiti B.V.

Influencing energy consumption

Climate-KIC Start-Up

Founding Year: 2012

Location: The Netherlands









ViriCiti aims to strongly participate in the transition to electric city buses in Europe resulting in a decrease of local air pollution and CO2 emissions.

City buses operate in a variety of circumstances. Dense traffic, high passenger count or extreme cold may cause unanticipated energy drain. Pro-active energy management ensures 100% reliable operation, even at highly critical situations.

ViriCiti offers an off-site pro-active vehicle energy management system which remotely monitors and influences energy consumption of electrically driven buses. By dynamically adapting driver behavior, influencing interior climate, intelligent charge cycles and vehicle routing,

ViriCiti provides the missing element for full adoption of electric driven city buses. Bus operators can use electric buses instead of conventional buses without compromising on driving performance or functionality while lowering total cost of ownership.

ViriCiti has been a participant in the US Start-up Tour 2014.

Like this start-up?

Support this Venture Competition finalist by sharing this page.

This start-up is a finalist in the 2014 edition of Climate-KIC’s Venture Competition. Show your support by sharing this page and mentioning #BestClimateVenture2014.

  • Check out the finalists and learn about Europe’s best clean-tech start-ups.
  • A clean-tech start-up entrepreneur yourself? Apply to the Climate-KIC Accelerator.
  • Sign-up for our newsletter to be the first to find out about this year’s winner.

Venture Competition

Valencia, Spain

Climate-KIC’s pan-European Venture Competition awards Europe’s brightest start-ups that help fight climate change with a total of €425,000.

In the European final, 18 start-ups compete for €65,000 in funding in Valencia Spain on 31 October.

Climate-KIC operates the world’s largest clean-tech start-up Accelerator focused on climate change.


Freek Dielissen
+31 6 28 52 58 20

Team Members: Jan-Willem Heinen (Innovation Management, MSc); Freek Dielissen (Mechanical Engineering, MSc); Alexander Schabert (Mechanical Engineering, MSc); Simon Rijk (Aerospace Engineering, MSc)